Writing Consultant for Hire

FullSizeRenderDo you need help with a writing project? Working on article pitch? Are you working on a grant application? Shining up your resume to apply for a new position? Writing an artist statement or bio? Need another set of eyes before you send off an important email? I have a proposition for you.

For the past three years, I’ve been working with the Writing Centre at Emily Carr University of Art and Design to support students with writing projects that range from graduate theses to website content to resumes and cover letters (here’s a little info about the work I do there). I’ve also done similar work at the University of British Columbia and have offered support to many of my friends and colleagues over the years with great results.

This summer, I’m in a position to offer these skills more broadly to members of the community on a private basis. Beyond providing traditional editing services (although I can do that too), I can help you develop and organize your ideas, create a plan, and move from one draft to the next. I have experience with a range of genres, from personal narrative to business communication to high academic. I also have a great deal of experience working with English language learners.

No project is too small. Whatever phase of the writing process has you stuck, I can help you through it. I’m happy to negotiate reasonable hourly rates. If this sounds like a service you’d be interested in, please drop me an email at ethorkelson@gmail.com.

